The Governing Body

What is the Governing Body?

All schools in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role is to act as a ‘critical friend’: to support, to challenge, to ask questions, ultimately to represent the school community.

The Governing Body works in close partnership with the headteacher, staff and the local authority. Whilst the headteacher is, of course, responsible for the day to day running of the school, the governors are involved with such things as staffing, curriculum, school buildings and finance. It ensures the school functions well and maintains the proper range of academic and social objectives.

The standard term of office for a governor is four years. The chair and vice-chair are elected annually at the first meeting of the academic year. All staff can make nominations and vote whether vacancy is for a teacher or support staff member. Governors are responsible for the finance and fabric of the school and general policy matters, whether in relation to the educational programme or otherwise, and are ultimately accountable for disciplinary matters relating both to the pupils and teachers. Much of the work of the Governing Body is done by committees. The Committees usually meet at least twice a term.

The committees are;

  • Curriculum Committee
  • Staffing and Pay Committee
  • Admissions and Pupils Committee
  • Jewish Studies Committee
  • Premises Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • IT Sub-Committee

The Sinai Governors are…

Chairman and Vice Chairman

  • Mrs Rosalind Goulden, Chairman of the Governing Body & Foundation Governor -Chair of Curriculum and JS

Foundation Governors

  • Mrs Caroline Laitman
  • Mrs Deborah Kester – Chair of Staffing and Pay Committee
  • Mr Alan Tibber – Chair of Admissions Committee
  • Mrs Deborah Azagury-Slattery
  • Mr Daniel Tysman

Local Authority Governor

  • Mr M Maurice


  • Mrs J Lipshaw

Parent Governors

  • Vacancy
  • Mr Darren Simons

Staff Governor

Associate Members

Mrs Rosalind Goulden – Governor responsible for Safeguarding

Mr Daniel Tysman – Governor responsible for SEND


Leave us your views